Topic outline

  • Curriculum Structure

    Curriculum Structure

    Our curriculum, based on Curriculum for Wales, has 3 cross curriculum responsibilities of literacy, numeracy and digital competence.

    Our curriculum structure also uses the 6 areas of learning and experience:

    • Languages, literacy and communication
    • Mathematics and numeracy
    • Expressive arts
    • Health and well-being
    • Humanities (including RE)
    • Science and technology


    In addition to these 6 areas, school continues to develop a curriculum for its learners who benefit most from a more cross curricular, sensory approach. This has become our 7th AOLE and focuses on supporting our PMLD learners. School also supports some learner through its SCERTS® curriculum which supports our autistic learners who may have sensory needs.


    For further information on curriculum for wales go to



    For more information on supporting our PMLD learners go to


    For information on SCERTS®  go to